Life’s little surprises

Don’t you love those moments in life when something small, charming, and unexpected pops up? Well I had a few of those moments today. While organizing my closet, I found a small package tucked behind a few shoe boxes. Puzzled, I looked at the label, and familiarity dawned on me. It was a golden egg signed by Oprah Winfrey! Now, I know what you’re probably thinking, why would Oprah of all people autograph a decorative egg? Well I’m still trying to figure that mystery out myself. My mother works at a television station, and back in the ’90s they were doing some kind of partnership with Oprah’s show. Somehow, because of that, Oprah herself sent the prized egg to the station, and somehow through all of the quirkiness of it, my mother ended up with it. Funny isn’t it? A couple of years ago, my mother discovered the ornament hidden in her office, and now coming full circle, I found it hidden in my closet. It’s hilarious seeing the parallels between the two stories. It’s one of those moments where people might not believe it if they didn’t see it, so here it is. I guess Oprah has that effect on people.

Leave a Reply

