Sweet Summertime : Part 2

One of my annual summer projects consists of my mother and I cleaning out our closets. While I could bore you with details about organizing and sorting clothes, I’m going to jump ahead to the most exciting part of our cleaning expedition. While cleaning out her project, my mother found an old dress of hers from about the late ’80s to early ’90s. She actually bought it at Saks Fifth Avenue in New York City while on vacation.

I couldn’t believe the treasure she uncovered! I immediately asked her if I could have it, and she said yes! I tried it on, and it fit perfectly. It was as if it was waiting for me all those years. I decided to turn it into a DIY sewing project. So far, the only thing I’ve done is remove the ridiculously large shoulder pads. But I’m planning on shortening it, rolling up the sleeves to about mid length, and adding a new belt to make it modern.

What makes this vintage piece even better in my eyes is its bright red color and quirky swirly black dotted pattern. I’ll be sure to post the final results of my new vintage dress.

Stay tuned for part 3!

XO

Leave a Reply

